The Alcohol Health Alliance was established by Alcohol Action Ireland and the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland (RCPI), and brings together a wide range of public health campaigners whose mission is to reduce the harm caused by alcohol. The Alcohol Health Alliance Ireland is chaired by Prof Frank Murray, former President of the RCPI, and a liver specialist at Beaumont Hospital.

Follow this link for more on the Alcohol Health Alliance.

To apply for membership of the Alcohol Health Alliance please email us confirming your interest in joining the Alcohol Health Alliance, providing a short summary or overview of your work or interest in this area, and agreeing to our Terms of Reference.

Contact: Sheila Gilheany, Alcohol Action Ireland.

Email:  Tel: +353 1 8780610, or on mobile: +353 87 995 0186.


The current members of the Alcohol Health Alliance are:

Alcohol Action Ireland

Royal College of Physicians of Ireland

Health Service Executive

Irish Heart Foundation

National Youth Council of Ireland

Irish Cancer Society

Irish Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children

Children’s Rights Alliance

The National Rehabilitation Hospital

Irish Road Victims’ Association

No Name Club

Marie Keating Foundation

Purple House Cancer Support

Irish College of General Practitioners



Institute of Public Health

Rape Crisis Network Ireland

The Rise Foundation

Alcohol Forum

Cork Local Drug and Alcohol Task Force

Family Support Network

The Irish College of Ophthalmologists

Union of Students of Ireland

National Suicide Research Foundation

National Women’s Council of Ireland

Alzheimer Society of Ireland

Mental Health Reform

Irish Medical Organisation

Social Justice Ireland

Men’s Health Forum

Irish Student Health Association

Irish Dental Association

AMEN Support Services

Dual Diagnosis Ireland

A Lust For Life

REACT (Responding to Excessive Alcohol Consumption in Third-level)

Pavee Point


Environmental Health Association of Ireland

South Western Regional Drug and Alcohol Task Force

Galway Healthy Cities

Community Awareness of Drugs

Ballymun Local Drugs & Alcohol Task Force

Finglas/Cabra Drug and Alcohol Task Force

Tallaght Drug and Alcohol Task Force

Dental Health Foundation

One Step Clinic


Dr Siobhan Jennings

Dr Suzanne Cotter

Dr Hugh Gallagher

Professor Joe Barry

Dr Bobby Smyth

Jillian Van Turnhout

Professor John Crown

Kathleen Moore Walsh, Law Lecturer, Waterford Institute of Technology

Leave a Reply